Report from this year’s AGM by Hugh:

Change at the top at last night’s AGM.

Roy Gibson tendered his resignation due to personal family circumstances which seriously curtailed his involvement in the club.His resignation was accepted with regret by the body of the hall and Chris Lenson was duly elected President with Steve Johnston as Vice President, Fiona Tierney as Secretary, Hugh Kerr as Treasurer. The working committee Malcolm Mckenchie, Joe Tierney, Willie Alston and Levi Mcphee were all re elected en bloc, but we have great pleasure in welcoming two new members – David Brown and Paul Fitzpatrick to the committee. While we will all have hard work ahead we hope David and Paul along with everyone else enjoy the challenges that lie ahead.

We cannot let the resignation of Roy pass without paying tribute to his long service to the club which spanned nearly 40 years from committee man to terms as Secretary, Treasurer and finally as President. During this time Roy has overseen many changes to the club which has help maintain the Thistle as Scotland’s oldest club with an unbroken 135 year history. Through his business GH Welding, he has supported the club both financially and through work done on the premises. His input will be missed but we hope to see him at both home and away games when his circumstances allow him.

Without a doubt it is people like Roy Gibson who have over the years ensured that Larkhall Thistle will continue to flourish.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *